Subscribe To the NEOHIO SCCA Newsletter!

Send me emails about

October 26, 2022

2022 Hoosier Super Tour Champions Announced

2022 Hoosier Super Tour Champions Announced

With the SCCA National Championship Runoffs complete, the 2022 Hoosier Racing Tire SCCA Super Tour Nationwide Points Champions have also been named. This year’s points battle consisted of the best six finishes in the 10 weekends of Hoosier Super Tour races, plus the Runoffs at VIRginia International Raceway on Sept. 24-Oct. 3, 2022, with the top 20 in each race earning points.

It’s not an easy title to win, often involving miles on the tow rig as well as a competitive setup at the track. That makes Graham Fuller’s third consecutive title in GT-Lite even more impressive, done with five race finishes plus a top-five at the Runoffs.

Michael Lewis was the lone two-class winner this season, taking the title in both GT-1 and GT-3. Zachary Whitston snagged the Formula Vee crown from his brother, Andrew, who held the 2020 and 2021 title. Whitston’s season was so impressive that he was unable to count his second-place finish at the June Sprints, as he already had four wins and a pair of runner-ups to his tally.

The two classes with the most competitors are no surprise, and for that reason Spec Miata and Spec Racer Ford Gen 3 (SRF3) are two of the toughest to win. Spec Miata racers Charles Mactutus trailed Travis Wiley going into the Runoffs, but a second-place finish elevated him to the title. In SRF3, Charles Turner held just a two-point lead on both James Goughary and Denny Stripling heading into the Runoffs; Turner walked away with a Runoffs silver medal and the Hoosier Super Tour class title.

Chip Romer was the champion of champions during the 2022 season, however. Romer, in Prototype 1, maxed out his points with six regular season wins and a Runoffs title – the only driver to run the perfect season this year.

Below is a list of 2022 Hoosier Super Tour Nationwide Points Championship winners with name, car make/model, and SCCA Region of record.

-American Sedan: Philip Waters, Chevrolet Camaro, Texas Region
-B-Spec: John Phillips, Toyota Yaris, Houston Region
-E Production: James Lindenthal, Mazda RX-7, Northern Ohio Valley
-F Production: Ken Kannard, Acura Integra, Atlanta Region
-H Production: Eric Vickerman, Austin-Healey Sprite, Detroit Region
-Formula 500: Eric McRee, NovaRace Blade, Detroit Region
-Formula Atlantic: Nathan Byrd, Elan Pro Mazda, Arizona Region
-Formula Continental: Tim Minor, Citation US2000, Blue Ridge Region
-Formula Enterprises 2: T.J. Acker, SCCA Mazda FE2, Cal Club Region
-Formula F: Camryn Reed, Piper DL7, Central Louisiana Region
-Formula Vee: Zachary Whitston, Protoform P2, Milwaukee Region
-Formula X: Billy Smith, Formula Mazda, Texas Region
-GT-1: Michael Lewis, Jaguar XKR, Cal Club Region
-GT-2: Andrew Aquilante, Chevrolet Corvette, Philadelphia Region
-GT-3: Michael Lewis, Mazda RX-7, Cal Club Region
-GT-Lite: Graham Fuller, Honda CR, Washington DC Region
-Prototype 1: Chip Romer, Elan DP02, San Francisco Region
-Prototype 2: Tim Day, Jr., Stohr WF1, San Francisco Region
-Spec Miata: Charles Mactutus, Mazda Miata, South Carolina Region
-Spec Racer Ford Gen 3: Charles Turner, SCCA Enterprises SRF3, Washington DC Region
-Super Touring Lite: Danny Steyn, Mazda MX-5, Florida Region
-Super Touring Under: Anthony Piselli, Subaru Impreza, Washington DC Region
-Touring 1: Mark Boden, BMW E46 M3, Chicago Region
-Touring 2: Charlie Peter, BMW M2, Kansas City Region
-Touring 3: Rob Hines; Nissan 370Z Nismo, Washington DC Region
-Touring 4: Marc Cefalo, Mazda MX-5, Northeastern Pennsylvania Region

New Logo and Stickers for 2023

The schedule for the 2023 Hoosier Racing Tire Super Tour has already been announced, with races kicking off on Jan. 13-15 at Sebring International Raceway. Along with the new racing season comes a new Hoosier Super Tour logo and accompanying stickers for your race car. New Hoosier Super Tour stickers will be available online and at Hoosier Super Tour events.

Photo caption: Zachary Whitston (Formula Vee, left), Charles Mactutus (Spec Miata, center), and Chip Romer (Prototype 1, right) were among 26 racers who earned Hoosier Super Tour titles in 2022.

Photo credits: Formula Vee image (left) by Joseph Bierschbach; Spec Miata and Prototype 1 images by Jeff Loewe.

The Northeast Ohio SCCA is a regional chapter of the Sports Car Club of America (SCCA). We are Ohio’s home for every motorsports enthusiast


All rights reserved.

Copyright © 2024 NEOHIO SCCA Powered by DevQ