Subscribe To the NEOHIO SCCA Newsletter!

Send me emails about

October 16, 2021

Halfway There: 2021 RallyCross Nationals Day 1

Halfway There: 2021 RallyCross Nationals Day 1

For the first time in the event’s 15-year history, the SCCA RallyCross National Championships are being held in Ohio, running this weekend in Chillicothe at the Ross County Fairgrounds. The hard pack surface was put to the test after rain fell on Friday afternoon and continued into the evening. Saturday morning runs began on slick grass, which quickly became mud. By the third run group, the sun had dried the mud and allowed drivers to start finding grip.

Something Different

To mitigate some site degradation, both of Saturday’s courses started on pavement, eliminating the highest-maintenance section of a dirt course. Traditionally, launches cause deep rutting that must be monitored and regularly adjusted. With the first 8-20 feet of these courses on asphalt, that concern was virtually eliminated.

Doing it For the Boys (and Girls) Back Home

It’s no surprise that Ohio leads the 126 entries with 27 representatives hailing from the event’s hosting state, but there are others well represented. Michigan sent 22 drivers to their southern neighbor and Pennsylvania is represented by seven competitors. Six drivers call each New York and Kansas, “home” while five came from Maryland. Kent Hamilton wins the award for furthest distance traveled, making the trip from Anchorage, Alaska.

Current leaders

Below are provisional class leaders following the first two competition sessions at the 2021 SCCA RallyCross National Championships along with the car, competitor hometown and current interval to second place.

Stock Front Wheel Drive – Jason Meyer, 1996 Honda Civic, Clinton Township, MI, 0.181 second
Stock Rear Wheel Drive – Sean Grogan, 1998 Porsche Boxster, Walled Lake, MI, 13.190 seconds
Stock All Wheel Drive – Brad Legris, 2015 Lexus RC 350, Brighton, MI, 10.971 seconds
Prepared Front Wheel Drive – Leon Drake, 1991 CRX, Gurley, AL, 0.642 second
Prepared Rear Wheel Drive – Shawn Roberts, 2002 Mazda Miata, Woodbridge, VA, 3.628 seconds
Prepared All Wheel Drive – Mark Hill, 2006 Mitsubishi Evo, Lawrence, KS, 8.002 seconds
Modified Front Wheel Drive – Andy Thomas, 2003 Toyota Celica, Adamstown, MD, 3.297 seconds
Modified Rear Wheel Drive – John W England, 1995 Mazda Miata, Baltimore, OH, 1.679 seconds
Modified All Wheel Drive – Jess Moeding, 2011 Mitsubishi Lancer, New Prague, MN, 2.821 seconds
Constructors 2 Wheel Drive – Cole Powelson, 2020 Sierra RX3, Herriman, UT, 5.842 seconds

Tomorrow’s schedule

Competition continues Sunday morning with an all-new course for drivers to decide the 2021 RallyCross National Champions. Following class competition, the first ever RallyCross Race of Champions will bring all 2021 National Champions together to compete head to head in the Sierra RX3 UTVs.

You will be able to follow along during all of the action – with live timing and audio – at


Photo by Rupert Berrington

The Northeast Ohio SCCA is a regional chapter of the Sports Car Club of America (SCCA). We are Ohio’s home for every motorsports enthusiast


All rights reserved.

Copyright © 2024 NEOHIO SCCA Powered by DevQ