Subscribe To the NEOHIO SCCA Newsletter!

Send me emails about

October 7, 2021

Mazda MX-5 Cup Shootout Nominees Announced

Mazda MX-5 Cup Shootout Nominees Announced

Mazda Motorsports has unveiled the list of drivers nominated for the 2021 MX-5 Cup Shootout, and a full 10 SCCA drivers made the list and have their eyes on the $110,000 award scholarship to compete in the 2022 Idemitsu MX-5 Cup presented by BFGoodrich Tires championship. In addition, Mazda offers to additional scholarships each worth $75,000. And at least one of the three recipients will be a woman to further help attract and retain women in motorsports.

This year’s SCCA nominees:

  1. Preston Pardus – Spec Miata, SCCA Runoffs, NASA Championships and First Gear Mazda Challenge Southeast Champion
  2. Danny Steyn – STL, SCCA Runoffs national champion
  3. Vaughn Glace – FX, SCCA Runoffs national champion
  4. Sterling Hamilton – FM, SCCA Runoffs national champion
  5. Scott Rettich – FE2, SCCA Runoffs national champion
  6. Travis Wiley – Spec Miata, SCCA First Gear Mazda Challenge Southern Conference champion
  7. Tyler Ladd – Spec Miata, SCCA First Gear Mazda Challenge Mid-States Conference champion
  8. Matthew Morin – Spec Miata, SCCA First Gear Mazda Challenge Northeast Conference champion
  9. Brandon Collins – Spec Miata, SCCA First Gear Mazda Challenge Northern Conference champion

At-large SCCA-member nominees:

  1. Aidan Fassnacht – Spec MX-5 Challenge
  2. Alex Berg – Spec MX-5 Challenge & Spec Miata
  3. Bryce Cornet – Spec MX-5 Challenge
  4. Bryson Morris – Spec MX-5 Challenge
  5. Connor Zilisch – Spec MX-5 Challenge & Spec Miata
  6. Grant West – Spec MX-5 Challenge
  7. Harry Voigt – Spec Miata
  8. Jillian Fichter – Spec Miata
  9. Joey Atanasio – Spec MX-5 Challenge
  10. Michael Borden – Spec MX-5 Challenge
  11. Michele Abbate – SCCA, WRL & Trans Am

Winning a club racing championship while driving a Mazda or Mazda-powered car is the primary way to be nominated for the Shootout, while at-large nominees are also considered. Nominated drivers will submit a written and video proposal from which the finalists will be selected for the two-day Shootout.

View The Nominees

Photo by Jay Bonvouloir

The Northeast Ohio SCCA is a regional chapter of the Sports Car Club of America (SCCA). We are Ohio’s home for every motorsports enthusiast


All rights reserved.

Copyright © 2024 NEOHIO SCCA Powered by DevQ