Subscribe To the NEOHIO SCCA Newsletter!

Send me emails about

February 14, 2020

Road Rallyists Score Major Awards at Convention

Road Rallyists Score Major Awards at Convention

The annual SCCA convention was held in Las Vegas January 18-20, 2020 and there were numerous awards presented that are of interest to the RoadRally community.

Detroit rally legend Scott Harvey was inducted into the SCCA Hall of Fame. Scott’s storied rally career began in the 1950s and he has been extremely successful as both a rally competitor and an organizer. Here’s a link to further information.

The SCCA Member of Excellence Award was presented to Rich Bireta of the Kansas and Kansas City Regions for his innovative contribution of creating the Richta GPS Checkpoint app timing system. Selected by SCCA’s Board of Directors, this award is presented to the volunteer who shows the greatest commitment to SCCA activities. The recipient can be involved in Solo, Rally and/or Road Racing. This person personifies the SCCA volunteer who gives of his/her time and effort to help organize, work in a specialty or any volunteer role necessary to a motorsports event. This award provides a $5000 travel voucher to attend any motorsport event in the world.

The Robert V. Ridges Memorial Award was presented to Bruce Fisher of the Detroit Region for his long service in support of Road Rallies, especially for his 20 years of serving as Rallymaster for the Press On Regardless rally.

The Regional RoadRally Achievement Award was presented to New England Region for their successful and diverse Road Rally season that included John Buffum’s Winter Challenge Rally, Gary Hamilton’s three day Great American Mountain Rally Revival, Jon Lamkin’s Hurdle National GTA, and numerous other rallies. Scott Beliveau accepted the award.

The Divisional RoadRally Achievement Award was presented to Central Division for their pioneering efforts to introduce GPS checkpoint timing systems. Jason Frank, Milwaukee Region’s Regional Executive, accepted the award.

The Best New Regional RoadRally Program Award was presented to Susquehanna Region. Kristen Poole accepted the award.

The W. David Teter Award for Best National Tour Rally of the Year went to Land O’Lakes Region’s MOWOG Winter Rally. MOWOG was the first National rally to use GPS checkpoint timing. Kate Westberg – Chair, Clarence Westberg – Rallymaster.

The Arthur J. Gervais Award for Best National Course Rally of the Year went to Milwaukee Region’s Roads Scholar Rally. Jim Crittenden – Chair and Rallymaster.

Congratulations to all the award winners, and thanks to all of the folks at SCCA for for hosting a very successful convention.

The Northeast Ohio SCCA is a regional chapter of the Sports Car Club of America (SCCA). We are Ohio’s home for every motorsports enthusiast


All rights reserved.

Copyright © 2024 NEOHIO SCCA Powered by DevQ