Subscribe To the NEOHIO SCCA Newsletter!

Send me emails about

November 18, 2023

Neohio Annual Awards: Call for Nominations

Category: Club News

Author: Jennifer Dietz

Each year, in addition to points championships, the Neohio Region recognizes members or participants in our programs who have gone a step above in their dedication to the sport or the activities of the club. The Trustees and Officers of the region are charged with selecting these award recipients. However, we are open to and encourage nominations or recommendations from our members for those that are most deserving of this recognition.

The six awards we encourage you to nominate people for are:
The Tommie & Bill Benham Memorial Award
The Thomas Prescott Memorial Award
The Betty & Roxy Kincaid Memorial Award
The Reed Andrews Friendship Award
The Scarpucci Award
The Elden “Dutch” Moore Longevity Worker Award

Criteria for each Award can be found below
Please email your suggestions to or any member of the Board prior to our December 5th Board Meeting. Thanks for your contributions.

For a volunteer worker(s) who contributed to the Region’s events above and beyond the call of duty.(Individual and perpetual trophy)

The Thomas Prescott Memorial Award
Michael & Judy Sherwin instituted this trophy to be given to a Neohio competition driver who exemplifies the individual competitive spirit of amateur SCCA racing. It shall be awarded to an otherwise unheralded Competition Driver whose individual competitive spirit and desire to win has characterized his/her racing season. (Individual and perpetual trophy)

Betty & Roxy Kincaid Memorial
For Sportsmanship – devotion to the sport, conduct becoming to a sportsman, involving honest rivalry and graceful acceptance of results. (Individual & perpetual trophy given)

The Reed Andrews Friendship Award
In recognition of the importance of friendship and good sportsmanship in amateur sports car racing (Individual & perpetual trophy give)

Scarpucci Award
Awarded to the person who, during the previous year, has contributed outstandingly to the success of the
Region’s Rally program and of rallying in general. (No Perpetual given starting in 1999 as trophy was lost)

Elden “Dutch” Moore Longevity Worker Award
Recognizes a volunteer official who, year after year, is dedicated to motorsports in the Neohio Region. This award is presented in appreciation of the longevity of Neohio volunteers (Individual & perpetual trophy given)

Rookie of the Year
A road racing driver that is in their first year of competition racing that shows improvement and diversity in their racing skills.

Driver of the Year

The driver that earns and submits the greatest total number of Regional and National points from any recognized
SCCA Division. (Beginning in 2001 this will include nominations) (Individual & perpetual trophy give)

The Northeast Ohio SCCA is a regional chapter of the Sports Car Club of America (SCCA). We are Ohio’s home for every motorsports enthusiast


All rights reserved.

Copyright © 2024 NEOHIO SCCA Powered by DevQ